Miner Temptations goes Gluten Free

1 May

Scan0012

It has been a long time since I have posted anything here. I am going to try to get back into the swing of things both for my friends who are interested and so that I have a place to keep track of everything I have learned and new recipes I have tried.

So here it is…my diagnosis as having celiac disease and how it came about.

It has been a rough year around here, within my own household as well as in my extended family and I had just been feeling off. It was something I had kept brushing off…you know , I was up with the kids, I have been worrying about everyone, I didn’t eat right the other day, etc. I was exhausted and extremely short-tempered and one day I snapped at my kiddos for something really stupid. I took a minute and realized that this wasn’t right. I wasn’t the person that I had become and there had to be more than just being stressed to do with it. My goal at this point became to make myself healthy over the summer and give my kids back the mom they needed and deserved.

At a visit with the kids to the doctors office for yet another random illness picked up in kindergarten, the doctor commented on how tired I looked. I made an appointment to see her the following week (I suffered from mild anemia with each of my pregnancies and had wondered if I had just gotten so run down over the winter that it was back). We chatted and she took my vitals and then suggested blood work to see what was going on. I believe the tests she requested had to do with my thyroid, vitamin B and my various iron levels. The doctor called me from home on her day off (did I mention how much I LOVE my new doctor) to discuss the results. My iron levels were ridiculously low so I was diagnosed with Iron Deficient Anemia, and put on a crazy dose of iron supplements to boost it back up. She discussed a few tests to see why and said the paperwork would be in her office on Monday. When I picked up the paperwork there was a note from her suggesting that I might want to get the blood test for celiac disease as it might the reason my body wasn’t absorbing the vitamins and minerals it should be. She did warn that there would be a cost as the test isn’t covered by OHIP but we decided I should get it anyway just to be sure (and luckily we found out afterward that the hubby’s insurance will cover it…yay). I stuffed myself full of toast for a couple days and went for more blood work. So about a week later I was in the dr office with my kiddos (AGAIN…darn those kindergarten petrie dishes) and after chatting about the kids it was confirmed that I do in fact have celiac disease. For those questioning whether I will have the biopsy, the answer is no. My doctor’s office doesn’t request them unless your blood work is negative and you still have symptoms.

So basically: I didn’t think I had celiac disease until I found out I had anemia and I was lucky in that my doctor was the one who suggested the test.
I have since discovered that many of the things I have been experiencing over the last few years may in fact have been caused by this, but I have several of the less common symptoms as well as some of the more common ones. I couldn’t concentrate, had a crazy brain fog, was exhausted, moody and irritable, and I could cry at the drop of a hat, I have migraines and got night sweats, breast tenderness, canker sores, all sorts of various intestinal issues, my finger tips get cold (might be connected according to some resources), leg cramps and back pain, I bruise easily, my head got really itchy and I had sleep issues…I am sure there are more but these are the ones I can think of.  My kids are getting tested as well because there is a chance they might have it (some of them have symptoms but may be too young for accurate testing.

I was trying to describe the way I felt to a friend the other day and the best I could come up with was that I feel like I have been asleep (both literally and figuratively for most of my youngest daughter’s life, and that just isn’t fair to her (or the rest of the family) or myself.

So now, a little over a week into my new gluten free life I am feeling so much better already. It is hard because I am replacing many of my go to items, but I found a shampoo and lip balm that I love, I will get to figure out new cupcake recipes because many alive there is not a lot of really yummy gf baked goods out there and I will be darned if I can’t bake my cake and eat it too. But I am feeling much better already and I am so grateful that this is all it is…changing my diet is a small price to pay to get healthy again and I will do my absolute best to keep the complaining about it to a minimum.

I hope that I have answered some of your questions. If not let me know and I will try again.

Leave a Reply

The Modern Mantua-Maker

One Person, Two Sewing Personalities

gf and me

Gluten Free Recipes & Tips

The Celiathlete

GLUTEN FREE ~ MEAT FREE ~ RUNNING FREE

Kemptville Farmers' Market

Know your farmer, know your food. Home-grown and Hand-made

Gluten-free is Life

Navigating a gluten-free diet in a gluten-filled world.

