What She Ate (Spice It Up)

28 May

It has been super busy around here lately. With the brief spots of nice weather in the midst of the rain we have been trying to make every moment of being outside happen, but boy it has been chilly and wet. The garden is both loving and hating the weather…we have spinach ready for picking so I am making a garlicy chicken pizza ASAP (maybe friday because tonight is soccer, tomorrow my pizza partner in crime won’t be here and Thursday is also soccer). quinoa flour biscotti, oat chocolate chip cookies The Kemptville Kinsmen Farmer’s Market also started this past weekend and went pretty well. It was windy but thankfully the rain held off for the afternoon (and my sister ate her poutine happily while I had a delicious muffin and homemade chips from some other booths 🙂 ) I let her eat her yummy fries happily because I have heard rumours   of places “nearby” that have gluten-free gravy so I will be able to indulge every once in a while too, but the thought of driving 40 minutes into the city will make sure I don’t do it too often. Chocolate chia seed fudgecupcakes Most of the yummy yummy things we are selling at the market (and everything that comes out of my kitchen is going to be gluten-free and delicious. Image Speaking of indulgences, here is my entry for the What She Ate Link up . This week’s challenge was Spice it up. I was excited and had a plan…of course in the true vein of me-being-me (remember how I said part of my brain fell out with each kid, and then the add to that the Gluten-fog that is only just lifting, but still appears on occasion as I figure things out), I thought the link up was tomorrow…not today…I was going shopping tonight to get all the stuff I needed to re-make and de-glutenize a favourite spicy chocolate cake, with yummy cinnamon whipped icing. Then I rechecked the date, and raced to see what I had in the kitchen that I could make while still keeping an eye of the trouble twosome (my youngest and my youngest nephew).

And ta-da: DSC_4842

Five Minute Spicy Chocolate Mug Cake 4Tbsp gluten-free flour mix (without xantham gum) 3Tbsp sugar 3Tbsp cocoa powder 3/4 tsp cayenne powder (I found this a bit spicy but my husband did not) 1 egg 3 Tbsp coconut oil (liquid form) 3 Tbsp milk (I think I might add more next time) splash of pure vanilla handful of chocolate chips sprinkle of icing sugar to top Mix all the ingredients in a coffee mug until well blended. Microwave on high for 3 minutes. Allow to cool for a few minutes. Sprinkle with icing sugar or top with whipped cream (which I forgot to pick up…whoops). Not the healthiest of snacks, but because you make just one portion you won’t be tempted to eat the whole cake when your kids are in bed or distracted in the other room. I annot wait to try this in a few weeks with the addition of some fresh zucchini!

Enjoy!!!

DSC_4843

Don’t forget to check out the other participating blogs.

Visit Stacey at Let It Unravel http://letitunravel.com/ and Sondra at Abhaya http://abhayayoga.blogspot.ca/

P.S. Please keep bearing with me as I learn how to put all the links and such in the blog…it is a slow process for me, but I am sure my 4 year-old-will be able to tell me soon 😀

Leave a Reply

The Modern Mantua-Maker

One Person, Two Sewing Personalities

gf and me

Gluten Free Recipes & Tips

The Celiathlete

GLUTEN FREE ~ MEAT FREE ~ RUNNING FREE

Kemptville Farmers' Market

Know your farmer, know your food. Home-grown and Hand-made

Gluten-free is Life

Navigating a gluten-free diet in a gluten-filled world.

